U15's Defeat Ridgeway to Reach QF's of NIBFA Cup
Carrick Rangers Colts U15s sponsored by Energystore today took on fellow Lisburn League rivals Ridgeway in the NIBFA Cup. Ridgeway came out on top in their previous encounter however the Colts had been going well in this competition and there was a quarter final tie against Cliftonville up for g

A frenetic first half ensued with neither side able to establish themselves and chances spurned at both ends.

Just before half time though it all kicked off with Carrick taking a deserved lead on 33 mins. Captain Sam Lilburn delivering a free kick from just inside the Ridgeway half into the box which flicked back off a defenders head and into the net. 1 nil.

Carrick couldn't hold their lead however and Ridgeway hit back straight away scoring a fine team passing goal in added time at the end of the half. Half time 1-1.

The Colts started to exert some pressure in the second half and on 54 mins were rewarded as they took the lead for the second time with Ben Morrison netting to make it 2-1.

With the game delicately poised at 2-1the Colts were handed a golden opportunity to seal the win on 66 mins. Striker Ben Morrison was brought down in the box by a clumsy challenge from a Ridgeway defender, the referee had no hesitation in awarded the penalty. As the players and coaches alike wondered who would take the spot kick, left back Jordan Seymour stepped forward and confidently claimed the ball. He smashed home the penalty sending the keeper the wrong way and sealing the win for the Colts.

A fine battling performance from Carrick who have had a fantastic run in this seasons NIBFA cup. Next up a tricky tie away to Cliftonville from the national league on 8th March.

Team: Bodles, Seymour (1), Lilburn (1), Luney, Purdy, Hawthorne (y), Swann, Dunwoody, Nicholl, Morrison (1), Smiley, Boyce, Gardner, Jeavons.

updated: 25 February 2014
Carrick Rangers
Ballinamallard United
Belfast Loughshore Hotel Arena, Carrickfergus
Danske Bank Premiership
Friday 25 August 2017, kick off: 8:00pm
19/08/2017v Glentoran(A)DBPD1-1more
15/08/2017v Ballymena United(H)DBPD1-1more
12/08/2017v Linfield(A)DBPL0-2more
05/08/2017v PSNI(A)FD0-0more
01/08/2017v Islandmagee(A)FL1-2more

 Glenavon 3 3 0 0 15 59
 Linfield 3 3 0 0 8 09
 Coleraine 3 3 0 0 7 29
 Glentoran 3 2 1 0 5 27
 Crusaders 3 2 0 1 10 36
 Cliftonville 3 1 1 1 7 64
 Warrenpoint Town 3 1 0 2 3 83
 Carrick Rangers 3 0 2 1 2 42
 Ballinamallard United 3 0 1 2 4 91
 Ballymena United 3 0 1 2 3 111
 Ards 3 0 0 3 3 90
 Dungannon Swifts 3 0 0 3 1 90